Have a happy and safe holiday everyone.

Sports Day 2018 Winners

Winners cr

The Sports Prizes were awarded at the very end of a lovely day of fun sports events in Wilson’s Hospital School.

One of the most highly anticipated awards is Athlete of the Year. It is awarded to the pupil who shows a great love for a variety of sports and who also demonstrates true dedication and commitment to sport in general while also encouraging others. Lucy was named Girl Athlete of the Year and Ryan was named Boy Athlete of the Year.

MMcH cr LN cr 

Three new awards were presented this year. Mr Michael Finnegan is retiring at the end of this academic year. He has been involved in rugby throughout his years at Wilson’s Hospital School. This season, there was a very strong squad of Form 1 Boys and to encourage this pattern to continue among the future First Years the school decided to introduce a trophy especially for Form 1 Boys and they decided to call it the Michael Finnegan Perpetual Trophy to acknowledge Mr Finnegan’s great dedication to rugby at WHS. Frances and Freddie Butler initiated a beautiful wooden trophy for Junior Endeavour in rugby. Brian O’Driscoll is the only other person to have been presented with one of these unique trophies! From the hockey department a trophy for the Junior Girls Player of the Year was presented in recognition of the success of the team this season and to encourage players at that age.

Unfortunately, time flew by and the presentations had to end to allow pupils to catch buses. The remaining presentations will be made in assembly. It was a lovely end to the Sports Evening and Sports Day activities enjoy so much by everyone. Congratulations to all participants and prize winners.

Prize winners included:

Weafer Mile: Stephen

SS1 cr


Girl’s Player of the Year: Roisin


Andrew Dolan Shield for Boys Player of the Year: Stephen

RC cr SS2 cr


Most Improved Girls Player: Heather

Senior Girls Player of the Year: Hannah

Junior Girls Player of the Year: Emma

99cr HD cr

HMcH cr


M. Finnegan Perpetual Trophy for 1st Year Boys Rugby: Ross

2nd Year Boys Player of the Year: Reuben

Butler Trophy for Junior Rugby Endeavour: Edward

Junior Boys Player of the Year: Oisin

Senior Boys Player of the Year: Alex

Rosemary Maxwell Eager Cup for Girls Player of the Year: Emily

7s Rugby Captain: Mark

Tag Rugby Captain: Jeff

1 cr Tag cr

RA cr RW cr

EP cr OR cr

AK cr EG cr

Andrew Claxton Cup for Senior Sporting Endeavour: Aramide

Reg Catchpole Trophy for Junior Sporting Endeavour: Reuben

AA cr RT cr

2 cr Soccer league cr

Table Tennis:

Junior Player of the Year: Stephen

Senior Team Player of the year: Oscar


Upcoming Events


28.04.2019 8:30 pm - 8:30 pm


29.04.2019 9:00 am - 9:00 am


07.05.2019 9:00 am - 9:00 am